Lesson Four: The Power of Jesus Christ

Key passages:

1) Luke 8:45-46…

45“Who touched me?” Jesus asked. When they all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the people are crowding and pressing against you.” 46But Jesus said, “Someone touched me; I know that power has gone out from me.”

2) Luke 6:17-19…

17He went down with them and stood on a level place. A large crowd of his disciples was there and a great number of people from all over Judea, from Jerusalem, and from the coast of Tyre and Sidon, 18who had come to hear him and to be healed of their diseases. Those troubled by evil spirits were cured, 19and the people all tried to touch him, because power was coming from him and healing them all.

3) Matthew11:1-6…

1After Jesus had finished instructing his twelve disciples, he went on from there to teach and preach in the towns of Galilee.
2When John heard in prison what Christ was doing, he sent his disciples 3to ask him, “Are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?”
4Jesus replied, “Go back and report to John what you hear and see: 5The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is preached to the poor. 6Blessed is the man who does not fall away on account of me.”

4) John 20:30-31…

30In his disciples’ presence Jesus performed many other miracles which are not written down in this book. 31But these have been written in order that you may believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that through your faith in him you may have life.” (TEV)

It is important to note:

Jesus’ exhibition of power was no circus-like side show. It seems that it was intentionally exhibited for two specific purposes: 1) Convince His contemporaries He was the long-awaited Messiah of God; and, 2) Confirm for all generations to come that He is the Messiah, the Son of God. Thus, we understand the power behind such statements as:

“Then Jesus told him, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed;
blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.’” —John 20:29

Now, we will see three specific things to treasure about Christ’s power:

1) Jesus’ comprehensive power as reported by John:

chart-selected-miracles-in-johns-gospel.jpg

*Tenney, Merrill C., John, The Gospel of Belief. (adapted)

2) Jesus’ conquering power as revealed in the resurrection:

19Jesus answered them, “Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days.”
20The Jews replied, “It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and you are going to raise it in three days?” 21But the temple he had spoken of was his body. 22After he was raised from the dead, his disciples recalled what he had said. Then they believed the Scripture and the words that Jesus had spoken. —John 2:19-22

3) Jesus’ consoling power as remembered in the Lord’s Supper:

23For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread, 24and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” 25In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.” 26For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes. —l Corinthians 11:23-26

Two Observations:

1. Christ’s power was exercised on behalf of those who follow Him.
2. Christ’s power is still exercised on behalf of His followers:

Colossians 1:9-12, “Be assured that from the first day we heard of you, we haven’t stopped praying for you, asking God to give you wise minds and spirits attuned to his will, and so acquire a thorough understanding of the ways in which God works. We pray that you’ll live well for the Master, making him proud of you as you work hard in his orchard. As you learn more and more how God works, you will learn how to do your work. We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out over the long haul—not the grim strength of gritting your teeth but the glory-strength God gives. It is strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright and beautiful that he has for us.” (MSG)

Ephesians 3:20-21, “God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.
Glory to God in the church!
Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
Glory down all the generations!
Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes! (MSG)

Six Provisions Christ has made for
strengthening His followers today…

1. Through His abiding presence (Matthew 28:18-20)

2. Through the Scriptures (Matthew 4:4; Deuteronomy 8:3; Acts 20:32).

3. Through the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 3:16; Romans 8:26)

4. Through the church, His body (1 Thessalonians 5:14)

5. Through prayer (Philippians 4:6-7; 4:13)

6. Through our weakness…

7even though I have received wonderful revelations from God. But to keep me from getting puffed up, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from getting proud. 8Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. 9Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may work through me. 10Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. —2 Corinthians 12:7-10

Therefore, let us remember…

29[God] gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. 30Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. —Isaiah 40:29-31

© Bill Williams
October 29, 2007

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christianity, Life of Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Lesson Four: The Power of Jesus Christ

  1. preacherman says:

    Bil,
    Great lesson for us all.
    Keep up the great work.
    It was wonderful.

  2. cwinwc says:

    Thank you for the “Selected Miracles in John’s Gospel.” Powerful.

  3. Indeed great lessons. Our Saviour certainly appreciates the good work

  4. thank u for the wonderful message pray for me and my family as times are tough, phyically, spiritually, finacially, and god bless all of u who have a part in getting the message out love all, phil

  5. Ibrahim Alfa says:

    God keep Blessing you for Blessing me in Jesus Name

  6. Remya Sasikumar says:

    hi all, this website is very encouraging and explains the word of lord.

  7. JESSICA says:

    iknow that GODloves me and have been faithful to me .but i have a problem pls help in praying for me .i need to gain addmission into the university of esut

  8. Charles says:

    Jesus was a true God and a true a man how can a man get this godly power by doing what? Help and probably send me documents

  9. There is something special in the power of GOD & that is believing his word. The can only work in our lives if we belive. John 3:16 said it all. God loves me, Jesus loves, the Holy Spirit lives in me & that is why i am alife.

  10. Nana Osei Bonsu says:

    There is no power than the power of Jesus Christ if you trust and believe Him all sickness will be healed even when you die you will raise again.

  11. Gireesh says:

    al glory, praises & thanks to the one & everlasting trinity(yahweh, jesus, holyspirit)….. AMEN.

  12. kay daniel says:

    i love your insperational views about the bible you make me understand in better please enlighten me with more information about my Lord and saviour Jesus Christ

  13. ayanna roach says:

    i am thirteen years old i do go to church and believe that GOD JESUS CHRIST die for me and this lesson make me understand how GOD opperates and give me clearer views on what i didn’t understand please pray for me and my family

  14. ndubueze gospel says:

    God is able

  15. Edwin Daniel says:

    Praise the Lord brother. Wonderful Bible study. I want to see the power of Jesus in my ministry. Pray for me.

  16. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking
    for. Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

  17. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    This kind of clever work and exposure! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  18. Now-a-days, using acar buying guide or with the help buying a new car of internet tools.
    Produce a copy of the vehicle in order to
    resist the purchaser leaving. Claudio does not want to go from showroom to showroom to
    buy a new car.

Leave a Reply

