An Evening in Florida

A delightful dinner, consisting of one of my dear wife’s made-from-scratch specialties: soup and cornbread.

A phone call to make contact with a seeker who is eager to learn more about following Jesus.

A phone call to confirm dinner plans with ministry partners for this Friday evening.

A twenty-minute work out in the swimming pool—water temperature 84 degrees.

A ten-minute respite in the hot tub—water temperature 96 degrees.

A refreshing shower—water temperature: refreshingly cool.

A hot cup of coffee in hand while enjoying a pleasant evening breeze as I write my first blog entry here on the lanai.

A full moon rising over our next-door neighbors’ palm trees.

A much more pleasant sight: looking through the patio doors at my wife, daughter and mother-in-love enjoying Dancing With the Stars together.

A fitting song playing on my iTunes: “This Good Day” by Fernando Ortega. My favorite part is:

This good day
It is a gift from You
The world is turning in its place
Because You made it to
I lift my voice
to sing a song of praise
on this good day

Blessings to all,
-bill

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Family, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to An Evening in Florida

  1. Ah, that is one of my favorites from Fernando. Glad you’re doing well.

  2. laymond says:

    sounds like you are not regreting the move.

  3. mattdabbs says:

    Glad to have you here in Florida. I may catch you at the next area ministers meeting. God bless,

    Matt

  4. Steve says:

    Ortega was at the National Pastors Convention last year in San Diego and did a fantastic job. Florida can be a paradise and certainly if you are sharing it with you loved ones.

    Peace.

  5. Bob Bliss says:

    Bill, good to see you on Monday. That was probably the most we’ve talked since your move to Cedars. I look forward to seeing you some more. God bless.

    Cornbread – my wife makes a simple but very delicious recipe that we usually eat with her very delicious chili.

    Lanai – never heard of them till I moved to Florida and found out our house has one. A great place during the winter time here in Florida. We have a freestanding swing in ours.

  6. Mike says:

    Nice post. I’m very pleased to have found your blog.

  7. Greg England says:

    I saw Ortega in concert a few years ago and immediately purchased all his CDs up to that point. I’d love to have a pool / hot tub to relax these old bones at the end of a day.

  8. "Maggie" says:

    Sounds like a worshipful evening! Awesome!

  9. cwinwc says:

    Ah, welcome to the benefits of living in the Sunshine State. Glad you’re hear (as well as your family) and it sounds like someone already is going to be eternally blessed by your move.

    We need to hook up some time.

  10. Donna says:

    You are gloating…..
    I am happy for you!

Leave a Reply

