More Than Sweet Sentimentality

Moving is an interesting adventure. My senses are overwhelmed with new places and new faces. There is so much to absorb. At the end of most days, I am emotionally and physically spent. It has become difficult to arrange even a few words into coherent sentences. Nevertheless, I will try to be a better blogger in the days ahead.

During the past few days, interspersed between other activities, I’ve been trying to finish setting up my office. This, too, has proved to be an interesting adventure. Almost every book I pick up has a memory attached to it. It just amazes me how many memories are wrapped around the things in my office. Most of these are memories of good times in ministry. There have been many, too.

In one box I came across several pages of notes I wrote while studying the Bible with a young man in Colorado. He was one of the first people God used me to lead to Christ. What a blessing it was to find these! This young man now serves as a minister with a congregation in Colorado. My plan is to send these notes to him.

During the last few days I’ve paused to ponder a number of things that remind me of people and places from the past. Most of them have little intrinsic value. They are worth a great deal to me, though. This is because they evoke memories of relationships with people who have and continue to mean a great deal to me and my family.

I believe that this more than sweet sentimentality. Because we are created in the image of God, we are designed to live in a relationship with God and with others. Unfortunately, the relationship with God was severed when we chose to sin. But now in Christ Jesus we who once were far away have been brought near through the blood of Christ. Because we have been born again to a living hope through Jesus’ resurrection, we have an anchor for our souls securely planted in eternity. Not only do we have the joy of restored fellowship with God, we now have confidence of this relationship continuing eternally. What a treasure!

When we contemplate the character of God, then the love, mercy and grace which are required of Him to make a way for us to live in relationship with Him is astounding. God truly has gone far beyond the extra mile to make it possible for us to live in relationship with Him. This should help us all to understand that every relationship we have should treated like a treasure, worth far more than anything else on earth! It should also underscore the fact that, like God, we should be willing to go beyond the extra mile to make sure our relationships are what they should be. What do you think?

© Bill Williams
September 21, 2007

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More Than Sweet Sentimentality

  1. cwinwc says:

    Well said. In the end, it is the strength of our relationships which truly matter and cause us to be remembered.

  2. Rachel says:

    How very true!

    Yesterday, I was reminded of the need to treasure my relationship with my son. My mother called me to tell me that her co-worker’s 14-year old grandson was in a horrendous accident, suffered severe internal injuries, and was not expected to live. Sadly, he did pass away last night, but he is in Heaven now as he was a follower of Jesus.

    Last night, I held my son in a long embrace and reminded him of how much I love him. I need to do that more often. Thank you for reminding me!

    God bless! 🙂

  3. Bobby R. says:

    Enjoyed the post and like the new look!

  4. Kathy says:

    Welcome home!

    I’d begun to wonder about the health of this blogland relationship . 😉 Glad you’re back!!!

  5. Maggie says:

    Funny, Kathy! Yes, great look, Bill.

    Take the time you need and keep the balance! We are for you!

    Maggie

  6. Steve says:

    Great to meet you in person, Bill. I look forward to getting to know you better. Peace to you and your family, bro.

  7. Greg England says:

    Glad you and the Puckster got together. He’s a dear, dear friend from Florida whose friendship goes back almost a quarter century.

  8. Tina Wilson says:

    I have learned over the years that relationships are the most important gift God gives us on this earth. We need to see everyone we meet as an opportunity to develop a relationship. There are SO many types of relationships and we have those examples throughout the Bible, but especially as Jesus walked the earth. We see he had numerous relationships that were one-sided, healing, needing, etc as well as relationships that were friendship oriented and then there was the inner circle and the “inner, inner” circle. Jesus made relationships a very high priority as He served here on earth. We need to do the same. Thanks for the blog. Give our best to your family.

    Blessings,

    Tina

Leave a Reply

