Mostly Personal

Missing In Action

Even though I have been missing from the blogging scene, I have not been inactive. These past few weeks have actually been extremely busy. It doesn’t look like things will be settling down much for the next few weeks, either. I do want my blogging family to know how much I appreciate all of the love you’ve been sending my way via encouraging comments and emails.

Tampa Bound

An explanation is in order. After more than six years of rewarding ministry with the Cedars Church of Christ in Wilmington, Delaware, I have accepted an invitation to join the ministry staff of the Northwest Tampa Church of Christ in Tampa, Florida, as outreach minister. The Lord willing, I will begin this new ministry in early September.

An Open Door

Perhaps a bit more information would be helpful. For some time now, my family and I have been seeking the God’s direction in our service to the Lord. We knocked on a few doors, which did not seem to be open to us. After much prayer, the Lord presented us with an open door for service with the Northwest Tampa congregation, which seems to provide an opportunity for me to realize a number of personal and professional goals, while also enabling my family to realize many of our goals.

Acting from Passion

While I have always enjoyed the preaching ministry, my passion is personal involvement in the lives of people. Sharing the sweet story of salvation with someone who is seeking the Lord energizes me more than virtually everything else I am privileged to do in ministry. Teaching the Word of God to those who are yearning to know the Lord and His will is one of the most soul-satisfying areas of service I know. Helping a congregation position itself as light, leaven and love through a missional presence in their community is one of the most fulfilling aspects of ministry to me. Thus, I consider myself wonderfully blessed to be given the opportunity to serve the Lord and the Northwest Tampa church in ways which allow me to act from my passion in all of these areas of service.

Good Friends

Nevertheless, it is not easy to leave our good friends in Delaware. My family and I will be moving away from some of the dearest people with whom we have ever been privileged to serve. Additionally, I will be ending my involvement with some especially gratifying community service projects in which I have worked along side of some of the most honorable men and women that I have ever known—all of whom I also consider good friends. Even though this move will take us more than a thousand miles from Delaware, we will be taking good memories of good friends and many good times with us.

New Horizons

The Lord willing, many new horizons lie ahead for my family. We will be making a new home in the Tampa area. We will be experiencing many exciting and new things over the next couple of months. I’ll do my best to share a few of these things along the way, but moving and blogging seem to run along divergent paths. Please keep us in your prayers.

Blessings to all,
-bill

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mostly Personal

  1. Greg England says:

    From all I know about that church, you should have a rewarding ministry there. And there are worse places to live than Tampa, Florida. But I do hope you enjoy heat, humidity, and HUGE roaches they call palmetta bugs. Truth is, they are HUGE roaches!

  2. reJoyce says:

    Congrats on the new job. I pray it will be a good move for you all.

  3. Trey Morgan says:

    Greg … your description of Tampa makes me wish I was living there too 🙂

    Blessings Bill in your move. Our prayers are that your new ministry will be rewarding.

  4. jel says:

    may your move be a blessing to y’all,

    we all know that you and yours will be a blessing to whoever
    meets U! 😉
    in my prayers!

  5. Charlie says:

    Bill – You spirit of love comes through loud and clear in your blogging. May God Bless you and your family richly as you make this move

    Charlie

  6. mattdabbs says:

    Come and see me at the other Northwest across Tampa Bay – Northwest Church of Christ in St. Pete. Give me a ring. If you need help moving in, finding a house, etc. let me know.

  7. preacherman says:

    Bill,
    May God bless you in your new ministry brother.

  8. Brian says:

    God bless you during this time of transition.

  9. Mark says:

    Bill,
    May God’s grace and peace go with you! I pray His blessings and fruitful ministry will be with you in a strong way at your new assignment.

  10. Laymond says:

    Be safe brother, and I know you will do well.

  11. scotti says:

    May the peace and joy of the Lord Jesus Christ be with you during your transition and always.

    Scotti

  12. cwinwc says:

    Now don’t let Greg scare you about living in Florida. Goodness knows he could have mentioned hurricanes, rabid raccoons, gators, snakes like the Diamond-back Rattler and Moccasins!

    It will be great to have you as a fellow Floridian and as Greg said, the Northwest Church has a great reputation. May God bless you and your family as you open this next chapter in your lives.

  13. Donna says:

    I hope all goes well with your move. You will be closer to “sweet home Alabama” but not by much. The weather will be an extreme change but the ministry opportunity sounds like a perfect fit for you.

    God speed!

  14. Greg England says:

    Thanks, Cecil. I don’t know how I could have omitted those drawing cards to Florida. And both of us left out the most dangerous snake of our hemisphere, the coral snake! And black widow spiders. Panthers. And roadside prostitutes who kill male motorists!! But Bill, don’t let us discourage you … there are some good things about living in Florida as well. For instance

  15. Chris says:

    Hey Bill, Congrats on the new job! I grew up at NW Tampa and my parents attend there as well as my wifes parents. Susan’s dad is an elder there – George Forcht. NW is a great church with amazing potential and maybe – as you have already experienced – the best accapella singing in the cofc. Blessings to you on your new ministry!

    Shalom!

  16. Kathy says:

    Bill, dear brother in Him

    You know my heart’s prayers for you and your family; for the transition; for the mess of moving, packing & unpacking; for turning loose of dear friends and neighbors while reaching out to new ones. You and family will do it all with God-gifted grace, I’m sure!

    And then, you do have the gifts awaiting you mentioned by Greg & Cecil. What loving, caring guys they are, right? 😉 But then, those mentioned are all reasons that hopefully will continue to keep me far, far away from Florida. 🙂

    Seriously, sounds as though the NW family and yours are a good fit. The LORD always knows best, if we let Him. 🙂

    Truly do wish, however, that y’all were moving a bit more westward bound. It would have been great to know y’all are in the prairie area. Maybe next time. 🙂

    Prayers and hugs for y’all!

    In His love, grace and mercy

    Kathy

  17. Keith Davis says:

    I pray for you in your new ministry brother. May God bless all of those wonderful personal experieinces with people as you share the most precious message in the world with them.

  18. neva says:

    My friend,
    I am excited about your new ministry adventure! I am praying for you and your family as you make this transition.
    Peace
    Neva

    PS–we may just get to meet sometime since I go visit my kids and grandkids in Lakeland.

    n

  19. Paula Harrington says:

    We’ll be thinking of you during this time.

  20. Stanley Webb says:

    I will be praying for you and your family as you stand at the threshold of new ministry and service for the Lord. May God bless and guide you in all your future endeavors. Hebrew 6:10

  21. John Roberts says:

    Congratulations and God bless you in your new ministry. Hope the move goes smoothly.
    Don’t listen to Greg – he spends all day wearing a black suit and going to funerals. You would expect him to talk like that :-). I have personally never seen a snake or a roach in Florida. He must be thinking of California!

  22. Peggy in Topeka says:

    Congratulations Bill! Tampa will be blessed to have you and your family working there.

  23. Bobby R. says:

    Bill,

    It sounds like an exciting opportunity for you and your family! I am just sorry I never got to visit you in Delaware.

    — Bobby

  24. Jennifer says:

    Hi Bill. I have been gone a while myself, but am trying to get back into the swing of things.

    Hope all is well with you.

    His,
    Jen

  25. Dee Andrews says:

    Bill –

    Congratulations on your move! Hope it goes well and that your new ministry will be rewarding for you. I’ll be praying for you and your family because I know how difficult moving can be, having just moved ourselves. It was rough, but now we are doing much better and I hope you will do well, too.

    Cheers & Blessings to you all today! Dee

  26. Matthew says:

    Hope all goes well with you.

  27. JOSEPH PETER says:

    Bill
    Greetings in His wonderful name !
    I read about your new call to serve with every interrest. I learnt that God is really on that. The planting season for that is now and the bumper harvest will also be soon.

    However, I felt like you should consider extending your wings to this rural most part of Kenya and serve God for one week here at the foot of Orucho Hills. I also gave up my Accountancy job in 2005 and gave my life to rural ministry. My personal challenges here will require me holding our hands together for common purpose in Kingdom building.

    Will send you our bronchure soon if you will reply to this mail. God bless you

    Joseph Peter

Leave a Reply

