Can You Help Me? Please!

Imagine that you write a weekly Christian advice column for The Galilee Gazette. This week’s column addresses a reader who writes the following:

Dear Gazetteers,

Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!! I’m a believer; but I’ve made some terrible mistakes in my life. I’ve been away from the Lord for years. I’m trying to find my way back home— but it’s so hard. Can you help me? Please!

/s/ Don’t Wanna’ Walla’ No Mo!

Your editor, whose suggestions have the force of a command, has suggested that you ought to be able to come up with at least five suggestions. Thus, you begin your response:

Dear Don’t Wanna’ Walla’ No Mo…

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Creative Writing, Following Jesus, Spiritual Renewal. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Can You Help Me? Please!

  1. cwinwc says:

    “You’ve taken the first step, you know you need and you want to come back to God. ”
    O.K. – there’s one step.

  2. Bill says:

    Good point, Cecil. Earlier, a sister told me that the first thing she would say is, “Stay right there where you are on your knees, ‘cuz prayer is what you need most at this moment.”

  3. Kathy says:

    You WANT to be back, you’re back.

    Your cry to God wanting back with Him is much like David’s in Psalm 51

    [my emphasis added]

    Psalm 51
    For the director of music. A psalm of David. When the prophet Nathan came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba.

    1 Have mercy on me, O God,
    according to your unfailing love;
    according to your great compassion
    blot out my transgressions.

    2 Wash away all my iniquity
    and cleanse me from my sin.

    3 For I know my transgressions,
    and my sin is always before me.

    4 Against you, you only, have I sinned
    and done what is evil in your sight,
    so that you are proved right when you speak
    and justified when you judge.

    5 Surely I was sinful at birth,
    sinful from the time my mother conceived me.

    6 Surely you desire truth in the inner parts;
    you teach me wisdom in the inmost place.

    7 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

    8 Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones you have crushed rejoice.

    9 Hide your face from my sins
    and blot out all my iniquity.

    10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

    11 Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.

    12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

    13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will turn back to you.

    14 Save me from bloodguilt, O God,
    the God who saves me,
    and my tongue will sing of your righteousness.

    15 O Lord, open my lips,
    and my mouth will declare your praise.

    16 You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it;
    you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings.

    17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart,
    O God, you will not despise.

    18 In your good pleasure make Zion prosper;
    build up the walls of Jerusalem.

    19 Then there will be righteous sacrifices,
    whole burnt offerings to delight you;
    then bulls will be offered on your altar.

  4. Bill says:

    Great thoughts, Kathy! Another person that I talked with a few weeks ago, who literally had been so far down she didn’t know where up was anymore, asked me how to get back on track spiritually.

    She indicated that she thought she believed in God, but had just “forgotten” how to trust Him. As we explored this idea a bit further she explained that really wanted to trust God—that she really needed to trust God, but she didn’t know where to start.

    After we discussed Hebrews 11:6 at length, I asked her to think of the biggest challenge to her faith in her life. I told her not to tell me what it was, but be sure that she had it firmly in mind.

    When she assured me that she did, I asked her to step out in faith and trust God to help her with this. We prayed together. Tears flowed freely. We parted company.

    Since then, we’ve shared brief conversations, but no details. That is until earlier this week when she presented me “evidence” that God had not only helped her with this matter, but had exceeded her expectations. I think she’s remembering how to trust God!

    Our God is an awesome God, isn’t He?

  5. jel says:

    If I didn’t know better, I would think that was me. 😕

    will be back with a comment later!

  6. Rachel says:

    I John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, then He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. God is waiting with open arms to envelope in His love and forgiveness. Believe. Pray. Surround yourself with strong sisters and brothers in Christ. Read the Word. Listen to God speaking to your heart.

    Yes, Rachel! Whether it’s the father welcoming the prodigal son home or the Son of Man with His arms outstretched on the cross, God’s open arms a most meaning image indeed. -bill

  7. Here’s what I would say:

    Brother or Sister:
    1) Call upon the name of the Lord and humble yourself before Him.
    2) Confess your sins with sincerity.
    3) Accept His forgiveness with thankfulness.
    4) Walk in His ways genuinely and earnestly.
    5) Love your neighbor as yourself sharing Jesus along the way….

    In His love,
    Your fellow co-laborer in Christ!

    P.S.: Psalm 51 noted above is a wonderfully appropriate passage!

    Excellent thoughts, Jim! Thanks for the list. #5 really caught my eye. It’s one thing to tell someone who is struggling that God will still use them. It’s still another thing to give them a concrete suggestion of how to become so vitally linked to what He is doing in the world! -bill

  8. jel says:

    Dear Don’t Wanna’ Walla’ No Mo,

    Your not alone there, fore I have been where you are.
    I was a believer, AM a beliver, and too made some terrible mistakes in my life. We are human, so we make mistakes.
    and we start to think we have blown it, thinking we have messed up so much that God wouldn’t what us back,
    But you see that ‘s what the devil want’s us to think, cause he don’t want you to go back, But God is a God of love and forgiveness, All we got to do is ask Him to come back in your life, But ya know what is funny, He has never really left us, if we are a believer, he won’t leave us, it is us that do the leaving, but He be there be there with His Ar ms WIDE OPEN , and saying welcome home my child!

    Hope this has help you in some way! DWWNM

    Thank you, jel! Your input means so much to all of here at the Spiritual Oasis. I can just see one of your beautiful pastoral scenes (check out jel’s blog) with the silhouette of a man standing in the foreground with his arms WIDE OPEN! -bill

  9. Kathy says:

    Bill, I don’t know your friend, but I do know in my case what seemed my difficulty in trusting God was really my lack of trust in myself – if I was so weak, how could I trust myself not to fall right back where I’d been? I simply did not want to admit that I was the one that had broken the trust between God and me, not Him, so the trust to be rebuilt was in myself, not in God. Max Lucado helped me see that it wasn’t up to me after all.


    …Now, suppose a person never…learns about the sealing and intercession of the Spirit. This individual thinks that salvation security resides in self, not God, that prayer power depends on the person, not the Spirit.What kind of life will this person lead? A parched and prayerless one.

    But what if you believe in the work of the Spirit? Will you be different as a result? You bet your sweet Sunday you will. Your shoulders will lift as you lower the buckling weight of self-salvation. Your knees will bend as you discover the buoyant power of the praying Spirit. Higher walk. Deeper prayers. And, most of all, a quiet confidence that comes from knowing it’s not up to you.

    “…knowing it’s not up to you.” How comforting is that truth!!

    Come Thirsty
    Max Lucado

    I pray your friend knows that as she struggles with trust, that she is confident in the Holy Spirit in constant intercession for her, even when she isn’t consciously praying. Powerful thought and one that helps me let go and let God, as the overused saying goes.

  10. Kathy says:

    Ooops! Sorry. When copying the above Lucado quote, I failed to include this part of the longer piece.

    None of us pray as much as we should, but all of us pray more than we think, because the Holy Spirit turns our sighs into petitions and tears into entreaties. He speaks for you and protects you. He makes sure you get heard.

    Powerful stuff, imho. I’m so grateful!

  11. Greg England says:

    I’d tell him, “Take heart, you’re right where God wants you!”

    This reminds me of a Fernando Ortega song:

    Take Heart, My Friend

    Take heart, my friend, we’ll go together
    This uncertain road that lies ahead
    Our faithful God has always gone before
    And He will lead the way once again

    Take heart, my friend, we can walk together
    And if our burdens become too great
    We can hold up and help one another
    In God’s love, in God’s grace

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender in the night

    If we should falter when trouble surrounds us
    When the wind and the waves are wild and high
    We will look away to Him who rules the waters;
    Who speaks His peace into the angry tide

    He is our comfort, our sustainer
    He is our help in time of need
    When we wander, He is our Shepherd
    He who watches over us never sleeps

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender every night

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender in the night.

Leave a Reply

