Of Saints and Sinners x

THIS IS TRULY GOOD NEWS…

5 This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 6 If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. 7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin. (1 John 1:5-7)

NEVERTHELESS, IT REMAINS TRUE THAT…

8 If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us. (1 John 1:8-10)

THAT IS WHY THE SPIRIT MOVED JOHN TO SAY…

1 My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. 2 He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world. (1 John 2:1-2)

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Embracing Grace, Grace. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Of Saints and Sinners x

  1. cwinwc says:

    This verse from I John 1 (6 If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.) reminds me of our theme for Bible Camp, “His Space.”

    Most of our kids have their own “My Space.” Our speaker Pat Pugh told them that we live in God’s “His Space” and it’s up to us to hit the “Accept” or “Reject” button when it comes to adding “God’s Profile” to our “Friend List.” Living in the light or darkenss is the choice that we all make.

  2. Rachel says:

    1 John 1:9 is especially meaningful to me. It was the verse that I chose to share when I was baptized at the age of 12. Since that time, it has been a pillar for me. Just knowing that God will forgive me and cleanse me, if I just go to Him and acknowledge my sins, and ask His forgiveness, is so AWESOME! His grace and mercy are abounding, and to think that He finds me worthy of both of these, when I know that I am not, is priceless!

  3. When we’re at worship….God is there!

    When we’re at our vocation….God is there!

    When we’re with our friends….God is there!

    When we retire for the evening with family in the privacy of our homes….God is there!

    But when we unwisely choose to surrender to the lust of our flesh….God is still there and He is grieved!

    We become impure, tainted, poisoned, contaminated and unclean! Yuck!

    Yet praise God that the blood of Jesus continues to purify us from all unrighteousness upon our humble confession!

    For spiritual darkness is a scary place indeed!

    Jim Richardson
    http://thywordistruth.wordpress.com/

  4. Mark Wilson says:

    Hi my friend Bill.

    Those verses can be taken in SO many different ways. Each denomination has a view… and many don’t even rate them very highly.

    How do *you* take them? What do they mean to *you*?

    Here’s how I receive them and it’s what I believe what Jesus did for me.

    I am a sinner. I have sinned and I will continue to sin every day until I die. As those verses say, if we are not aware of this, we are foolishly in denial. I am a sinner.

    But.

    THANK YOU JESUS that You have chosen to be the Lamb of God and in Your one perfect sacrifice, you have paid for the sins of the world, once and for all. Not even ONE sin has been left unpaid for. When You return You will NOT be dealing with any burden of sin… because it is all paid for.

    And because it is paid for… the enemy has *NO* claim to us. He has been disarmed (as Col 2 & 3 says)

    Truly we can now be filled with Your Spirit, we can come into intimacy with You, we can do all the things that anyone who remains in their sin cannot… because You cannot look upon a person who has unpaid sin.

    Thank You Jesus for paying for my sins. Thank You that by removing this barrier between me and my Heavenly Father, I am now in fellowship with Him and He is healing me and restoring me.

    Thank You Lord Jesus for rescuing me and redeeming me.

    Amen,
    Mark.

    Well said, dear brother! Well said!!!

Leave a Reply

