Ben’s Blog and more…

100_6150.jpgSeveral years ago, I was having a conversation with our youth minister, Matt Wilson. We were discussing plans for an upcoming youth retreat we were co-directing. He knew of my son’s artistic talents and asked if I thought he would be willing “paint something”. I learned long ago not to volunteer my family members for things like this. So, I suggested that he ask him.

Not long after this Matt talked with my son Ben about what we had in mind. Ben told him that he would give it a try.

That he did, too! Like many young people I know, Ben has been blessed with a variety of talents. He is very artistic. As a father whose primary concern is with his son’s spiritual development, it is soul-satisfying to see him using these talents to inspire and encourage others in their walk with the Lord. If you will permit me a moment of indulgence as a proud father, I’d like to invite you to take a look at some of Ben’s work. You can do so by visiting his blog, impressionsofjesus.

impressionsofjesus-banner.jpg

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that, during the weekend that Ben first tried his hand at painting for Jesus, other family members were offering their lives in service to the Lord.

— Luke, my oldest son, was the keynote speaker for the weekend, delivering a series of compelling lessons under the theme of “Mission Possible”.
— Matt, my #2 son, was Activities Director. Additionally, he brought out his guitar and performed a stellar concert for our entertainment on Saturday night.
— My daughter Abby was still a camper at this time, but she served as my consultant concerning all things “cool”. She has transitioned into a leadership role, as well, serving as a counselor.
— My dear wife Telesa also joined the party. She provided delectable delights as the head cook for the weekend.

God has blessed me with a wonderful family, not just because they tolerate me, but because they make serving the Lord such a joyful and exciting adventure. Praise the Lord!

Blessings to all,
-bill

P.S. I should note that one of our blogging friends, Maggie of Magnanimity, graciously helped Ben set up his blog. She also designed the custom header. She is a very busy lady, who went the second, third and fourth miles to help with this project. Thanks, Maggie!

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Children, Christian Living, Missional Living, Parenting, youth. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ben’s Blog and more…

  1. Maggie says:

    Blessing was mine. What a talented, gracious, and courteous young man. God will use him mightily, I have no doubt.

    Blessings to you and yours,
    Maggie

  2. Greg England says:

    Very impressive! Not only Ben, but the entire family. You are blessed, Bill!

  3. jel says:

    What Greg, said
    you are very blessed Bill!

  4. Donna says:

    It is great to have your family all seeking the same goal. I was very impressed with Ben’s work.

  5. cwinwc says:

    Wow, now that’s a family with a 1,2,3,4 punch! What a blessing that event must have been to you. I know the “rush” you get when you see your child (or in your case, “children”) involved in the Lord’s work. Your wife sounds alot like my mine.
    Ben’s pictures are powerful. Does he paint them in front of folks as someone speaks?

    Yes. He ususally does these paintings in conjunction with a Christ-centered devotional involving singing and Scripture readings.

  6. Laymond says:

    3Jo 1:4 I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.
    BTW I accepted your invitation to go by and talk with your buddy Brad at North Oak. We spent the best part of an hour, maybe more. very good talk, even got an invitation to hear him speak. Hear youvisited our fair city for a brief stay. May God bless

    Glad you stopped by to see Brad! He’s a good guy. And, yes, we did recently have an enjoyable visit to your fair city.

  7. preacherman says:

    God bless your minstry. May it be fruitful.

  8. donna-in-NY says:

    Blessings this day and always

Leave a Reply

