Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s Day. This is a special day for most of us. A day for honoring the precious women who birthed us, nurtured us, disciplined us and loved us enough to eventually nudge us out of the nest so that we could take flight on our own. This Sunday I will speak about the gifts mothers give to us. They are many, to be sure. I’ve selected just three for the morning’s message. I believe mothers, perhaps as no one else in our lives, give us: 1) Love; 2) Acceptance; and 3) Forgiveness.

It is also a day when most husbands have an opportunity to give honor to those to whom honor is due: our dear wives, the mother of our children. For me, this is one of the best days of the year. My dear wife, who is resting in gentle slumber as I compose these lines, is the most loving, the smartest, the kindest, the wisest and the most Christ-like person I know. She gives me the gift of a cheerful spirit at the beginning of each day. She blesses me over-and-over again as she walks through the house humming her happy songs. And, she often asks, “Now, where did that one come from?” Occasionally, she hides around the corner and leaps out at me as I approach. Grabbing my chest and falling in a pile on the floor has almost broken her of that habit, though. She is a fount of joy in my life, to be sure.

I could go on-and-on telling you about how much Telesa means to me. It would be my pleasure. But, there are four gifts my wife has given me that exceed all of other gifts. She has made me the father of four beautiful children. More than this, though, she has been, I believe, the most consistent and the single most positive influence in their lives. She has been Jesus to them for so long, that they don’t know how to do anything else but be Jesus to the people in their lives. How do you properly honor someone who is all that?

It’s not in me to do. I’ll cook her favorite meal on the grill. We’ll give her a frilly card that says gushy stuff. We’ll watch her new chick flick with her on Sunday afternoon. And, if we’re lucky, she’ll want us to take her to get her (our) favorite old-fashioned, homemade ice cream later in the day. We’ll do our best to make her feel special. We will even let her eat off the “Red Plate”. She will have to wait for her reward, though. But, I know the Lord will be smiling from ear-to-ear when he says to her, “Well done good and faithful servant…”

Blessings to all,
-bill

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Children, Christian Living, Family, Following Jesus, youth. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Neva Cooper says:

    Happy Mothers Day to Telesa!!

    Hope yall’s Lords Day is amazing!!!!

    Peace and prayers
    Neva

    Thanks, Neva!

  2. preacherman says:

    Great post.
    Did you read the outline to my sermon somehow? πŸ™‚ LOL
    God bless all of the mothers who have made a spiritual difference in our lives.
    Praise God!
    I hope your wife had a great mothers day!
    God bless

    Thanks, brother! Hope all is well with you!

  3. Lisa says:

    It’s always amazing to hear women being praised by their adoring husbands. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing your Telesa with us, Bill.

  4. Greg England says:

    So many of us are blessed far beyond anything we deserve, aren’t we? Good words for a godly woman.

    Thanks, Greg! Hope all is well with you!

  5. cwiwnc says:

    Sounds like Telesa and my son are cut from the same mode. Both like to hide around the corner only to pounce when someone comes around and then they derive great joy from our fright. I like the “grabbing the chest / falling down” technique.

    Sounds like we both married up brother. God bless both of you.

    You’re so right, Cecil! Hope you are having a great week!

  6. Rachel says:

    I am blessed because my mother is one of my best friends, and I am so thankful to God for her in my life.

    Your mother is a precious lady, Rachel. It brightens my day every time I see her!

  7. Kathy says:

    Absolutely no reason to ask how your Mother’s Day went at your house! What a blessing and I thank the LORD for blessing you with such a Jesus-modeling, loving help-mate!

    Daughter number one called from Honolulu. She sent me a welcomed and blessing gift – 700 hours phone card. Now I can initiate some of our long conversations. PTL and thanks to her and dear husband.

    Daughter number two called from San Diego [aren’t these two sooooo lucky?!?!?! – Honolulu and San Diego, Wow!] – we talked for over two hours. What better gift for a mom could there be, other than a face-to-face talk!

    Great day! thank You, LORD!

    Glad you have a great day, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

