Encouraging Words

encouragement.jpgKnowing my week would involve a couple of alligator wrestling matches, dealing with a cantankerous heater, some insurance company nonsense and a couple of cranky old coots, God sent numerous blessings my way last week in the form of encouraging words…

—There was the kind word spoken by one of my spiritual shepherds following last Sunday morning’s worship gathering, which affirmed not only the message I had just spoken but, also, what I felt was the Holy Spirit’s inner working in my life which brought this message to life.

—There were many words of affirmation in the comments section of this blog, along with an unusually high number of soul-stirring, spirit-boosting off-blog comments via e-mail.

—And, there were the kind words spoken by one of my best friends as we arrived at the church for mid-week Bible study last Wednesday evening. He encourages me almost as often as he makes me laugh. Both are a blessing.

—There was also a letter that arrived in yesterday’s mail from the chairman of a task force from St. Peter’s Church in Lewes, Delaware (the first town in the first state), for whom I taught disaster preparedness last Saturday. She went the extra mile to express her appreciation for the presentation. How nice!

—There was the sunny and delightful card I just received expressing appreciation for a series of lessons I am teaching. What made it so special is not just the thoughtfulness of the sender, but the wide-open-ness of this person’s heart.

All of this reminded me of Proverbs 16:24…

Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

My life has really been blessed by encouraging words. Has yours? I hope we are all looking for ways that we can use our words to sweeten the lives of others, as well as bring healing to those who are struggling. Lives will be blessed. God will be glorified!

© Bill Williams
2007-01-27

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Christianity, Following Jesus, Kingdom Living, Life, Writing Samples. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Encouraging Words

  1. Kathy says:

    Bill, dear brother, Yyou live the adage, “What goes around, comes around.”

    You are the most encouraging, uplifting guy! You attention to so many details in so many lives is astounding. No wonder you have also been recipient of encouragements – it’s what YOU do. You are a big dose of Splenda 😉 in my life. [no sugar for me, not as long as this girth sticks around, literally. LOL ]

  2. Donna says:

    It can sometimes lift my whole week to have one encouraging word….most weeks, I am so blessed by all my friends!

  3. jel says:

    I’m all for encouraging words!

    thanks Bill 🙂

  4. Greg England says:

    I used to keep a drawer filled with encouraging notes, cards, and letters for those dry seasons when I didn’t receive anything uplifting. I’ve not gone to that drawer in years. It just takes a word or two! Glad you had an abundance of it!

    What’s the decision about P’dine? How long are you going to keep us in suspense?

  5. Maggie says:

    God sure knows how to keep us in that tender balance, right where He wants us, doesn’t He? Sometimes, others encourage me. Sometimes, it is He Himself. Sometimes, it is circumstances. Sometimes, it is the discipline of digging deep in the word for it.

    I love that there is always a feast to be found of some sort in the Christian life…and I’m so glad you’ve expressed a small shower to reflect on in trying times. “Think on such things!!!!!” 🙂

    Maggie

  6. Maria says:

    Honey to the soul are timely words!
    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  7. donna says:

    Col 3:6 Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.

    Blessings to you Bill.

  8. Kathy says:

    P’dine? P’dine? Wouldn’t that be a hoot! Share the information wealth, okay? 🙂

  9. Neva Cooper says:

    The power of the spoken word is immeasurable. I think you, my brother, have learned to use that power. You are such an encourager. I think you are very deserving of a little “honeycomb” for the soul.

    Peace,
    Neva

  10. Great reminder. I’ve been needing that honeycomb myself and at just the right time, God came through…

    That verse immediately reminded me of Psalm 19, but particularly verse 10 where the Psalm writer talks of God’s word as being “sweeter than honey and honeycomb.” I can remember singing this when I was younger at camp and now as I read your post, can think of so many ways his words encourage me now.

  11. Steve says:

    I too, like Greg, keep two folders–thank the Lord it has grown to two now–of the encouraging notes I received here over the 23 years we’ve been in Melbourne. God provides for us in so many ways and I am truly greatful as you are Bill for those who take the time to care.

    Also, like Greg, I want to see you at Pepperdine!

    I was at that same Nashville Pastors Convention you mentioned on Keith’s blog. Wish I had known of you then. I was sad they discontinued that venue, but I travel Monday to San Diego to attend the National Pastors Convention there.

    Peace.

  12. Kathy says:

    My husband is a minister of two congregations in two small towns. He works so hard to serve others and rarely gets a thank you from our members. The town people are very gracious. It is funny how we learn to take advantage of people because we think that is simply their job. He walks around on cloud nine when he receives anything of encouragement. We all need to be built up sometime.
    Thanks for having a great blog!
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

