Spiritual Sunsets

100_4978.JPGSunsets are beautiful! They are one of God’s masterpieces, which never cease to amaze me. Sunsets over the Pacific are my favorite. It’s been 30 years since I first sat on the beach near San Diego’s La Jolla Cove to witness my first sunset there. Still, I can close my eyes and hear the waves crashing ashore as I visualize the beauty of southern California sunsets.

Arizona has beautiful sunsets, as well. They are very different. They are, nevertheless, marvels to behold. My earliest years were spent on the high plains in the western Oklahoma Panhandle, where the frequent serene sunsets almost made them commonplace. There are days that I would really like to be back in the wide open spaces of my youth where I could enjoy the peaceful ending of a day watching a pleasant sunset.

Now, I live in the mid-Atlantic region of the United States. Here, the opportunity to witness the splendor of sunsets is somewhat limited by the topography and incredibly tall trees. Even here, though, there are times when breathtaking sunsets catch my eye. Sunsets are beautiful!

Another one of God’s masterpieces which I admire is the beautiful lives of God’s children who have reached the sunset years of their lives. They radiate God’s glory and splendor in amazing ways. Just like sunsets, their lives are beautiful to behold. These are, I guess one could say, spiritual sunsets. They do, indeed, radiate the glory of God. Senior saints are like trees planted by rivers of water bearing the fruit of the Spirit, with Christian graces adorning their lives. Spiritual sunsets are beautiful, indeed!

Proverbs 16:31 states: “Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness.” This is the translation of Today’s New International Version. While it says essentially the same thing, I like the way the Contemporary English Version phrases this verse when it says, “Gray hair is a glorious crown worn by those who have lived right.” Clearly, this speaks of God’s glory shining through the life of one who has lived for Him, making the hair of gray so lovely a crown.

Whether we are young or old or some place in between, we love and admire those who have faithfully followed in the steps of Jesus. We never cease to marvel over each beautiful masterpiece, which has been created by God’s gracious working in the lives of senior saints. Not only are these spiritual sunsets beautiful to behold, they powerfully teach all who marvel at their majesty that for which we should be striving. To each of the senior saints among us we express our heartfelt thanks for leading us as together we follow in the steps of Jesus!

Yes, sunsets are beautiful! But, there are many marvels that are much more beautiful to witness. These are seen each time a dear, sweet child of God faithfully follows the Lord in the sunset years of life.

Ah! Spiritual sunsets! They are the most beautiful of all!

© Bill Williams, October 31, 2006

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Christianity, Family, Following Jesus, Kingdom Living, Life, Seniors. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spiritual Sunsets

  1. cwinwc says:

    I miss my Dad on many levels but one of the main reasons I miss him was his wise counsel that was beyond my years.

  2. Donna says:

    So true…..a great post.

  3. Bill,
    My grandmother came to mind when I read this. She was a praying saint who never gave up on me even when I did everything I could to get away from her. In the end, her prayers were answered, and she is reaping her rewards now with the Father.
    Great post!

  4. Kathy says:

    Bill, thanks for the beautiful allegory. We who are living those sunsets also are aware of the sailors’ weather prognostication ditty:

    “Red in the morning, sailor – take warning!
    But,
    Red at night, is a sailor’s delight!”

    We’ve lived the storms of adolescence, youth, and middle age, birth and death of loved ones, as well as spiritual warfare to the point our ‘full armor of God’ can only be burnished to a shine once again thanks to His promise of pending new life with Him in eternity.

    It’s quite a ride, believe me! 🙂 Praise Him!!

  5. preacherman says:

    I love going to the beach and watching the sunsets over the ocean. It shouts that their is a God in creation.
    Great post.

  6. loriannhouse says:

    This was a great post. Sunsets are just one of God’s great master pieces.

  7. jel says:

    Awesome post Bill,

  8. Pingback: Following jesus Blog Digest - Spiritual Sunsets

  9. Greg England says:

    The sunsets in Southern California are often breathtaking! Some of the most spiritually deep people I’ve ever known were / are from here. They, too, are spiritually breathtaking.

  10. Keith says:

    Bill,

    I was thinking about how beautiful sunsets are twice in the last few days. There is something about the color combinations in the sky that ONLY happen at sunset . . .

  11. Angie says:

    Every time I visit this blog… I’m captured by something stunningly beautiful!

    As always, thanks Bill…

  12. Emily says:

    What a beautiful comparison…! I totally agree – spiritual seniors really are like sunsets, with the way they radiate the beauty and peace of the Lord.

    Blessings to you Bill,

    Emily

  13. Nancy says:

    On the mark again Bill. You are so wise. When I was deep into photography I took many pictures of sunsets, even entered a contest once. The older than myself people at church are just as you described, so spiritual and humble. You and I think alike about comparisons with Godly things. The last piece I wrote on Southern by choice is how God is a filter for Christians. At least he is for me. Thanks again for such a wonderful post.

  14. Pingback: Grace Notes » Sunrise - Sunset; A Spitfire and A Gentle Ben

Leave a Reply

