Give Thanks in All Circumstances

Tarrah’s most recent report from South Africa has been on my mind all day. I’m grateful that she and her husband Dave have chosen to give of their lives to serve the people of South Africa. I’m so grateful for their desire to share Jesus with them.

After reading Tarrah’s report of their robbery, I was reminded of something I first read years ago. I have no idea where this was first published. The oft repeated story is about, Matthew Henry, the famous author of numerous commentaries on the Scriptures. When he was en route to a revival meeting at which he was to speak he was robbed of all his money.

matthewhenry.jpgHe arrived at the meeting and preached his message. Later that night, he wrote the following words in his diary:

“Let me be thankful that I was robbed tonight. Let me be thankful first because I was never robbed before. Second, because, although they took my purse, they did not take my life. Third, because, although they took my all, it was not much. And, fourth, because it was I who was robbed, not I who robbed another.”

What an attitude! One thing is certain: Examples such as these cause me to examine my priorities. It also helps me to understand why the Apostle Paul, who often suffered at the hands of others, would write the following: “16Rejoice always, 17pray continually, 18give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

Blessings to all,

-bill

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Following Jesus, Kingdom Living. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Give Thanks in All Circumstances

  1. Maria Toth says:

    Thanksgiving is powerful!

    God bless
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  2. timglass says:

    He will never leave us or forsake us, and I don’t want to leave or forsake Him. By being thankful, we humbly keep ourselves within God’s covenant love.
    His blessings to you this day!

  3. Kathy says:

    A very wise woman once addressed our single parenting group [when widowed she was left with NINE kids, so she knows of what she speaks, imho.]

    She was concerned about time constraints for personal study, prayer time, but found that she would be in ‘prayer without ceasing’ mode when she’d thank the LORD for every small and bigger thing that happened during the day.

    For instance, “Thank You, LORD for giving me the strength to finish all those dishes.” “Thank You, LORD for getting all the kids to school on time today.” “Thank You, LORD for Jimmy learning to tie his shoes.” “Thank You for getting us through the grocery shopping without losing anyone in the process.” “Thank You, LORD for this rainy day, and I ask Your help in keeping the kids dry and healthy as they WILL play in the mud puddles. Thank You for their freedom and joy.” “Thank You, LORD, for simply getting us through this day, healthy, happy and in one piece.”

    She found that through this process she not only was joyful, but generally with low stress levels, and amazingly, her time expanded affording her time for study and reading of His Word.

    She practiced what I like to call popcorn prayers. Just a quick popping up of thanks to Him or intercession to Him, recognizing all He does every second in our lives.

    Thanks for the reminder, Bill! As usual, great post.

  4. Greg England says:

    Matthew Henry could write that because there were no guitars involved! 🙂

  5. Cecil Walker says:

    Not only that Greg but he must have been a “man’s man” if he could write about his “purse” being stolen.

    Just think what a church would be like if you had a “church-full” of Matthew Henry-s with his attitude.

  6. Kathy says:

    Thanks, Bill for demonitoring me. LOL

    K

  7. Bill says:

    As usual, all of you have made great comments!

    Sorry that you had to spend time standing in the corner this morning, Kathy. I’m not sure why this happened, though. Your kind and wise words are always appreciated round here!

    We have a couple of new friends here at the S.O. that I hope everyone will welcome. Maria and Tim both have excellent blogs that I enjoy visiting very much.

    Greg’s comment about guitars really puts this in perspective. Since I’m not a guitarist, I can’t relate to this specifically. But, I can just imagine how I would react if my laptop were to be stolen!

    You are so correct, Cecil! What an amazing thing this world would behold if all of God’s children had hearts like that of Matthew Henry in this instance.

  8. I need to learn more of thanksgiving, Bill. I often do it for the good things, but I need to learn it during the hard times. That’s how it changes, huh?
    Thanks for this, brother.

  9. preacherman says:

    I believe that giving thanks in all circumstances has to be learned. It does come naturally or easy. I know over the years that I have been a Christian and minister I have had to learn this lesson and sometimes over again when I forget.
    Thank you for the reminder.
    God bless you brother.

  10. Jim Martin says:

    Bill– A good and powerful story. I’m glad I read this.

Leave a Reply

