Another God Sighting

We were saddened to see the moving van in our backyard neighbor’s driveway. We had never been close to her, but, since she had been widowed shortly after we moved into her neighborhood, we’ve tried to keep an eye on her. She was very independent and really never needed anything. Now she’s off to North Carolina to be closer to her children.

There was one occasion in which she was glad we lived in her neighborhood. It was the Saturday before Easter a few years ago. We had been receiving soaking rains for a couple of weeks. The ground was completely saturated, but heavy rains continued to fall. As I stood drinking my morning coffee and looking across our neighbor’s backyard meadow, I noticed that one of her towering pine trees was leaning against the side of one of her storage sheds. If there was any more loosening of its root system, it would come crashing down on her sheds and likely damage most of the expensive equipment they housed. At the least, it would be a big mess to clean up.

My wife called her and let her know what we had noticed. We didn’t learn until later on, that she had already noticed the potential disaster. More about that in a moment. Upon receiving my wife’s call our neighbor started asking what we thought she should do. We both told her that since this was such a potentially dangerous job (the trees are really tall in Delaware), she needed the service of professionals. While I made a call to a Christian man who owns a tree service business, my wife met our neighbor in the backyard to survey the damage.

The tree man was just getting ready to leave town for a family vacation over the Easter break (our children attend the same Christian school). After I explained the circumstances, he said he would come right away and take a look at the situation. He said that he would make some calls en route to see if he could get some of his workers to come in that afternoon (on their day off) and get this lady back in business (or something like that).

Well, he was there in the backyard within thirty minutes. He and our neighbor pointed and gestured for a few minutes and then he was gone. Within a couple of hours he and his crew showed up with their massive boom truck. Birds took to flight and saws started buzzing, within a few short hours they were done.

After we noticed that they were gone my wife called our neighbor just to make sure that all was well with her. She was so grateful for the tree-man that showed up to help her. She said that he hardly charged her anything. The amount that she reported sounded to me like he had charged her just enough to cover his labor expenses.

Then she shared with my wife that she had noticed the leaning tree before she had called earlier. In fact, she said that at the very moment that my wife called she was walking up the stairs from her basement crying out to God for help. She said that she was literally asking out loud to God, “How can I possibly find someone to come remove this tree on Easter weekend?” Then the phone rang. By my way of thinking, that’s a God sighting.

Before we move on I’m wondering: Does anyone else have a similar story to share?

© Bill Williams, October 18, 2006

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Following Jesus, Missional Living. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another God Sighting

  1. Greg England says:

    You may “move on” to something else, but I doubt you’ll move on to anything more interesting! Didn’t say “as interesting” as I feel confident you can do that, but nothing “more” interesting.

  2. John M. Kenney says:

    What an awesome thing to read after a hard day’s work. I am truly blessed!

  3. Dee Andrews says:

    This incident comes to mind. Actually, it’s been on my mind the past couple of days and I kept feeling like I needed to blog about it. Maybe God meant for me to start here, Bill. Seriously.

    This happened when I was 20 years old, living in east Texas in Nacogdoches. I was married with one son of 2 and expecting a second. One day I went with an older friend (probably in her 30s) to go take a big box of groceries to a young woman she knew of through the church who needed help.

    We drove half way down to Lufkin and way out in the woods to a “cabin” that can only be described as one comparable to a poor “sharecropper” from the 1930s. It had running cold water (only), no bathroom and three rooms. It was roughly the size of a FEMA trailer.

    In one room were a couple of mattresses on the floor with no bedding on them. They reeked of urine. The second room I do not remember. The third was the kitchen.

    Huge ants crawled throughout, including into the refrigerator that did not close all the way. The stove and table held the remains of water gravy and koolaid. There was no other food in the house.

    The people living there weren’t home. It was empty and filthy. The occupants were a young white couple and their 3 little girls. The mother was 19, the disabled husband about 35, I guess. It was hard to say because he looked much older. She was pregnant with her fourth child, which would be another girl.

    We sadly looked around the place and outhouse in the back, all deep in the woods, and left our groceries with a note.

    She told us later that they had driven into Lufkin for financial help, which they could not find. They had no more food or money to buy food, even milke for their 3 babies. What we took to them that afternoon was all they were to have for a while and it was a huge surprise to them when they arrived back home.

    After having her 4th daughter, my friend was instrumental in finding the young woman a job in Nacogdoches and things went better for her family.

    We left there after my husband at the time graduated and I never knew the end results of what we did in their lives. But I know that if we had not taken them food that afternoon when we did, they would have had no dinner at all and would have had to subsist on the water gravy and koolaid they’d had for lunch.

    Did God intervene on their behalf? She was a Christian who prayed. I can only believe that He did.

    Every time I’ve thought of that day since I’ve been in awe for the longest time at all the blessings in my own life even in the worst of times, because I don’t think they’ve ever been as bad as that. And I am blessed.

    Thanks for the chance to share that story. It’s been on my heart the past few days for some reason. I wish I could know what happened to all of them later on. That was so long ago and far away.

    God have mercy on us all.

    Dee

Leave a Reply

