Yancey Sends His Greetings

yancey.jpgMany of us have been blessed by the writings of Philip Yancey. I certainly have been. He writes a feature for “Christianity Today” called ‘The Back Page’. In his most recent article he writes about a place where hope and despair live side by side. It really touched my heart. I’d like to invite you to take a look at it. This link will take you there: Postcard from Africa.

Blessings to all,
-bill

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Missions, Missional Church. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yancey Sends His Greetings

  1. Cecil Walker says:

    We have a sweet lady at our church that spent several years in Africa with her husband as missionaries. She has said many times that she believes that if the current trends hold, there will be a day when the churches that were established by missionaries in Africa will begin sending missionaries to the U.S. to evangelized a rapidly “de-Christianized” America.

  2. I have some Mennonite friends who are missionaries to Africa. They are so happy there, but the needs are so great. They are thrilled with the response from the locals to Jesus.

  3. Bill says:

    Thanks, brothers, for your comments. I’m glad to hear about people responding to these needs. No doubt there are many, many similar thngs being doing. This is encouraging.
    -bill

  4. jel says:

    Mr. Yancey,
    is a very good writer ,
    I’m reading his new book. PRAYER
    and it is answering a lot of Q?s I have had on Prayer.
    I know this was off the subject, but I felt a need to say this!

  5. Bill says:

    Glad you shared this with us, jel. Is it, Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
    Let us know what you think of the book when you get it finished.
    Blessings,
    -bill

  6. Mag says:

    I’ve always been told “The Jesus I Never Knew” would completely change the way you’ve looked at Jesus. I’ve never gotten to it, but it’s still on my reading list, though an older work of his. A classic’s always a classic, I suppose. Anybody read it? Any thoughts? It’s a pretty long read for a mom of three!!!!

    I have a friend in an “unchurched world” right now who has been saved one year who can put to shame most of us with her command of, love for, and intense commitment to the word of God.

    We have a lot to be ashamed of as Americans…so complacent with our faith and the priveleges we can enjoy in our faith…body life, access to Bible study, the Word. So many I talk to each week do not have access to a Bible, yet they seek it out online. Can you imagine never thumbing through the tender rustling pages?

    Whew. Gives me chills.

  7. Niki Nowell says:

    Powerful article Bill! Thanks for directing us to it! That’s alot to think about…not sure what to say…

Leave a Reply

