Remembering Chris Bullard

 

chris-bullard.JPG

In Loving Memory

of

Chris R. Bullard

 

September 21, 1948 – September 14, 2006


Dr. Chris Bullard, a long-time friend and fellow minister, suffered a heart attack and died suddenly Thursday, September 14. Dan Knight, minister of church life with the Overland Park Church of Christ writes the following:

The Kingdom of God on earth sent one of its warriors home Thursday, September 14, to be part of the heavenly realm. Chris Bullard suffered a sudden heart attack, and died a little after 10 pm.

Chris was a minister at the Overland Park Church of Christ from 1977 to 2000, and the last twenty of those years he served as the Pulpit Minister. He was recognized around the country for his exceedingly excellent gift of teaching and presenting God’s word with clarity and depth.

Chris loved God’s church with an incredible passion. When he left here, he went to work with the Northland Mission Church of Christ in Missouri, and he will be sorely missed by that congregation. Keep them in your prayers. Chris Bullard was also a great friend of ministers. Three of us were with the family at the hospital when he died, and two more showed up shortly thereafter. Chris was a great sympathizer with those who worked full-time for the Lord.

Maxine Bullard, Chris’ wife of 37 years, found out last week that her cancer has returned. Keep her and their children, Jennifer (and her husband and their children), Christopher (and his wife), and Parker in your prayers.

God truly blessed all of us who knew Chris Bullard with the presence of a man of the truest integrity, a man who loved his family deeply, and a man who was willing always to sacrifice himself for the Lord’s work. He will long be remembered as a friend of this congregation.

Our dear brother will be missed by many for a host of reasons. During the time that I lived in Kansas, the encouragement Chris offered very often refreshed me. His scholarship both challenged and led me. His friendship often sustained me. There is no doubt in my mind that his works will long follow after him. I extend my most sincere and heart-felt sympathies to Chris’ family and friends. May you feel and know the presence of the God of all comfort and grace at this time.

UPDATE: It is with sadness that we note that Chris’ beloved Maxine has also gone to her reward. You can read her obituary by clicking here: Maxine Bullard Passes

“…Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on. ‘Yes,’ says the Spirit, ‘they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.’” –Revelation 14:13 NIV

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in bereavement, Blogroll, Obituary, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Remembering Chris Bullard

  1. Kathy says:

    Bill dear brother in Him,

    My prayers go out to the Bullard family and friends, you included, dear brother. It is so difficult to face that empty space left by a loved and respected one that leaves us for the other side eternity. May God’s comfort and love fill that void for the Bullard family and for all you who loved him.

  2. Mag says:

    Precious in the sight of the LORD
    is the death of his saints.

    Ps. 116:15

  3. jel says:

    I’m sorry for their lost , and will keep them in my prayers,

    a few years back, I was giving the honor to hear , avery gifted minister , and he was taking about people when they die, and he said something like this, when you hear that I have passed away , don’t cry for me, but cry for your self, for I’m kicking my heels up and having a grand time with my Lord!

  4. ksreyes says:

    Dear brother,

    I’m sorry to read of your loss – two so very close together…..mix in 9-11…..a sorrow-full month indeed. I praise God for the comfort of strangers, fellow bloggers, but especially for His holy peace. May His Spirit of peace rain down upon your soul and refresh and renew you….

    peace+
    kiersten

  5. Greg England says:

    I never even heard of Chris, but all I’ve read about him convinces me his death was a great loss to many people.

  6. John M. Kenney says:

    I am sorry for your loss, Bill.

  7. Bill says:

    Thank you, friends, for your kind expressions of sympathy. It is very encouraging, indeed.

    As I’m sure you are quite willing to do, please keep the Bullard family in your prayers.

    God bless,
    -bill

  8. Donna Mauldin Ware says:

    From 1974 to 1977 I was “raised” by Chris and Maxine as a student at Southern Arkansas University while they were the Church of Christ Student Center “parents”. The influence they had on so many of us is unbelievable and the wonderful memories too numerous to recount. Their love for Christ and for each other was more beneficial to me than the college degree that I earned while there. It helped mold me into the Christian wife and mother that I am. For that, I am eternally grateful. There were many tears when Chris, Maxine and little Jennifer moved from Magnolia, AR, in 1977. There are many tears again now that Chris has moved to heaven. My husband, John, and I feel a great loss as I know you do. But our joy is knowing there are “no tears in heaven”!

    In Him,
    Donna Mauldin Ware

  9. Bill says:

    Donna:

    Thanks so much for stopping by the Spiritual Oasis and letting us know how Chris and Maxine have impacted your life. It is truly amazing how many lives they have touched.

    God bless you,

    -bill

  10. Maxine Bullard says:

    Bill,
    The picture you have posted of Chris is one I’ve been searching for. Someone had it when they were making the slideshow for the funeral, but I can’t find it. This is the picture Chris’ mother wants, his sisters and brother want, my daughter wants, –and I can’t find it. I saved it off your website, but when I took it to have prints made, it didn’t have enough pixels to make a good copy. I was wondering if you have this picture in another place, possibly with more pixels.
    Thanks,
    Maxine Bullard

  11. Maxine,

    I’ll send this to you via email, dear sister.

    God bless,
    -bill

  12. Brenda says:

    Dear Maxine, I was looking you up on the internet and came across this website. I am so dearly sorry for your loss. I am also saddened to hear that your cancer has returned. It has been a very trying year in our family. Our family will keep you, your children and family in our prayers. Bless you, Brenda

  13. Linda Frost Branam says:

    Maxine, I just received the Harding alumni magazine and saw the notice of Chris’s death. I am so sorry to hear of it. But as I’ve researched his life and work on the Web, I realize how blessed I was to know both of you at Harding at the start of your glorious journey of service to the Lord and of love for one another and others.

    Remember how you joked about being jealous of my playing Chris’s “love interest” in The Importance of Being Earnest? It seems like only yesterday–and I can see both of you so clearly in my mind’s eye. The photos I’ve seen of Chris show that he hadn’t changed much at all.

    Now, I read that you are having health problems yourself, and I grieve for you once more.

    I hope to contact you directly soon, but wanted to reach out as soon as I saw that you might be in touch through this location.

    God’s blessings on you and yours,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

