I’ve Been Tagged By Jim Martin…

Jim Martin writes one of my favorite blogs. This link will take you there: A Place for the God-Hungry. His posts are insightful and uplifting.

I really appreciated yesterday’s post, because it gave me an opportunity to see inside Jim’s world. You see, he had been “tagged” by Scot McKnight and was, as a result, responding to a series of questions.

These questions were not cotton candy questions, either. As I read along I thought just how difficult it would be to make such choices. The questions concerned books. Those who were tagged were asked to pick just one book in each category raised in this series of questions. I was thinking that I could easily think of several books in each category and would truly have a hard time deciding on just one.

Then I did a double-take. Item number 10 asks respondents to “tag” 5 additional people and my name was smack dab in the middle of Jim’s list. ARGH! Now, I must choose. My responses are not necessarily my all-time favorites. I might even be able to come up with better choices if I was to think about this long and hard. So, here goes…

1. One book that changed your life: Experiencing God, How to Live the Full Adventure of Knowing and Doing the Will of God by Henry T. Blackaby and Claude V. King. This book came to me in the form of a gift from one of my wife’s friends and co-workers. It reminded me of the deep yearning within my soul to live in relationship with God, instead practicing a religion within the confines of the patterns seen by others.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once: A New Kind of Christian, A Tale of Two Friends on a Spiritual Journey by Brian D. McLaren. (The first of McLaren’s quasi novels dealing with the life of a preacher inhabiting the liminal space between modernity and the post-modern-era.) This book also came to me as a gift from a young man whose own experiences made him keenly aware of how hard it is for old dogs to learn new tricks.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island: My Bible! I know I’m supposed to pick “a book”. But, if I’m stuck on a desert island I think I’d really want to have my Bible. As we all learned from Tom Hanks in Cast Away, a person’s grasp on reality can get a little fuzzy out there, all alone. So, I’ll stick with the Scriptures, please.

4. One book that made you laugh: Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith by Anne Lamott. She’s got a unique, kind of quirky, some people might even think almost sacrilegious perspective on things. Nevertheless, this is definitely one book that made me laugh.

5. One book that made you cry: Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin. I read this book more than 30 years ago. It is the record of a white man who dyed himself black in order to enter into and experience life as a black in segregated American South.

6. One book you wish had been written: Kingdom Living, How Jesus’ Vision of Justice, Mercy and Peace Held Sway in the 20th Century.

7. One book you wish had never been written: Die Grundlagen des neuzehnten Jahrhunderts (The Foundations of the Nineteenth Century) by Houston Stewart Chamberlain, who influenced Adolf Hitler’s thinking significantly. He subscribed to the notion that the Aryan, or “noble” race was always in the process of creation as superior peoples supplanted inferior ones in evolutionary struggles for survival. What a different world this would be if books of this ilk were never to be written!

8. One book you’re currently reading: What Saint Paul Really Said – Was Paul of Tarsus the Real Founder of Christianity? by N.T. Wright. (Note: I make it a practice to read or re-read all of the books my children are assigned to read at school. My summer reading list is interesting, to say the least. Right now, I’m also reading Cry, The Beloved Country by Alan Paton.)

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read: Kingdom Come: Embracing the Spiritual Legacy of David Lipscomb and James Harding by John Mark Hicks and Bobby Valentine. So many people are talking about this! I’ve gotta’ find out what the buzz is about!

10. Tag 5 others: You’ll notice that I’ve mis-read the 5 for an 8. That shouldn’t be a problem, right? Here’s my list…

Angie

Cecil

Dee

Donna

Greg

Nick

Niki

Patrick

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Books, Christian Living, Christianity, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I’ve Been Tagged By Jim Martin…

  1. Erin says:

    What a fun exercise— now I have some good reading material ideas as well.

  2. Bill says:

    Welcome to the Spiritual Oasis, Erin! Glad to have you stop by.
    Hope you’ll come back often!
    -bill

  3. Donna says:

    I will have to give this one some thought before I do it…..thanks!

  4. Greg England says:

    I’m too old to play “tag” but give me some time to think about this. Obviously I want to sound scholarly and educated, right? Impress people I don’t even know with my high view of the literary world?
    I’ll tell you in advance that you, Jim and Scott McKnight read on a far different level than I but I’ll play your game … in time, my friend, in time. I’ll post it next week on my blog which should give you a weekend of great anticipation!

  5. Nick Secula says:

    Hey Bill,
    Got your tag today. I will give this whirl tomorrow. Sounds like fun.

  6. Jim Martin says:

    Bill,
    Thank you for your encouraging remarks about my blog. I always enjoy reading your comments.

    Seeing “Black Like Me” on your list brought back memories. I remember reading it many years ago and being amazed–stunned–at the reality of race in American.

    Thanks.

  7. Mark Wilson says:

    Tag me please! I want to be tagged.

  8. Bill says:

    Since Greg has relinquished his share of tags in order to serve the greater good (see his delightful post on this), I will glady appropriate one of his selections. On this, the eleventh day of August in the year of our Lord two thousand six, I hereby official decree: Tag. You’re it, Mark! You have been chosen!!! -bill

  9. Angie says:

    Hey there Bill! Just got your tag… What a way to be re-initiated back into the blog world after being away for a couple of weeks! I’ll be working on it, friend! LOVED all your responses… Gives me even more insight into the man you are (plus a few more titles to check out!)

    Thankful to know you,
    Angie

  10. Dee Andrews says:

    Okay, Bill –

    I read your “Tagged” post when you first put it up AND I read your email to personally inform me of the news that I was one of your 8 out of 5 “next to be tagged blogging buddies” and then sat back to contemplate the absurdities that sometime come into my life and the complications which arise that force me to choose between my own sense of welling being or upsetting the balance of the blog world by refusing to “play along” with said “tag” games and the like (which I hate with a passion, btw, in case you couldn’t tell up to this point), much in line with the Greg England philosophy of life and mindset, when it comes to the blog world, anyway.

    HOWEVER – having said all of that, AND:

    (Donna will appreciate this comment immensely, but that’s all I’m saying here, unless you have time to read her “Loose Ends” post and all the comments thereafter):

    (1) having read all of your notable literary selections, Bill, AND

    (2) having read Greg’s brilliant, satirical, yet succinct “Tagged” post, as well, with his just as literary, if in a slightly different vein as yours, AND

    (3) having made exception once before to my “refusal to be blog tagged rule” with my dear blogging friend, Ray Fleming, who has not been able to blog recently, but who you ALL must get to know over at his wonderful The New Freedom Sanction (Ray is an elder in a Christian church in Michigan not far from where Patrick is), AND

    (4) since all I’ve managed to think about since learning of this new, ersatz, would-be mission are what on earth would my responses be to such book questions, AND

    (5) figuring it’s 3 strikes before you’re out, so some lucky unbeknownest yet to me blogging friend is going to have one final “tagging” shot at me before I absolutely DO totally refuse to respond to any more . . .

    I have to say that this is your lucky day, Bill!! (And the rest of you, too, I’m sure.)

    While I cannot guarantee any brilliant satirical response such as Greg’s, seeing as how he seems to have the market cornered already, plus has already written the post I would have written pretty much word for word before I could sit down to do it (yeah, right, Dee Ann), I will give it my best shot.

    I do have to add, though, as Greg did, that my list of books is nowhere near the caliber of any of the theologians among us, nor of about 99.99% of the bloggers I read. In fact, I feel quite lacking and insecure when reading most of the blogs I do because I do not seem to spend ANY of MY time on such works. I’ve always been an avid and extensive reader, including a lot of “spiritually minded” tomes, but in recent years have been unable to sustain interest in very many books at all, period.

    I seem to have moved on to more “action” type writings and works rather than sitting around reading all the time, although I certainly read my share of blogs, which keep me close company and uplift and encourage me.

    Be that as it may . . . I have already been greatly pondering my long years of reading and how I might best respond to the book statements from my own point of view and will do so. At first, I thought I would do so just in comment here, but the more I think about it, the more I think I’ll do it as a post over at Finding Direction, instead.

    But, as you may know, Bill, I started my series of 3 posts today that I’d told you I’ve been working on for a few weeks, so want to finish it first. I’ll plan to do my own “Tagged” post after concluding “The Slide is Set.”

    So, those are my thoughts late on this Friday afternoon as we slide into a waning summer’s weekend here in south Mississippi. And I hope I haven’t overloaded y’alls minds here with this somewhat irreverant, off-the-wall comment. I seem to be lapsing into such commenting around on everyone’s blogs the past few days.

    Maybe it’s something in the water here. Just hope it’s not the first signs of dementia setting in, that I’m at an age to start worrying about on occasion.

    Cheers, guys! Dee

  11. Friends:

    Thanks for being such good sports! I look forward to reading your posts!

    Blessings to all,
    -bill

  12. Pingback: Nick Secula’s Blog » Blog Archive » I have been tagged

  13. Bill I like your list. I also liked “Experiencing God.” It was a very helpful book.

    Thank you for the remarks about Kingdom Come. I hope it does bless you.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

Leave a Reply

