Why Worry?

– Why do we so often hear people say: "Don’t worry about it!"?

– Worry pulls tomorrow’s clouds over tomorrow’s sunshine.

– Worry is wasting today’s time to clutter up tomorrow’s opportunities with yesterday’s troubles.

– God is an ever-present help in trouble; in worry we try to be our own.

– Worry is a prayer to the wrong God.

– Worry is something we all do, even though our Lord specifically said: Do not worry!

– Worry is oftentimes confused with legitimate concern, which is entirely appropriate. Sometimes, however, worry masquerades as concern, duping no one but the worrier.

– Worry is like time spent in a rocking chair; it keeps you busy, but gets you nowhere.

– Or, perhaps you’ve read the following in one of those “church bloopers” email that’s always making the rounds. It said: Don't let worry kill you off – let the Church help.

Note: If I knew where these came from I’d gladly give credit. I do know where the following quality advice comes from.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. –Philippians 4:6-8 (TNIV)

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

"And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, 'What shall we eat?' or 'What shall we drink?' or 'What shall we wear?' For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. –Matthew 6:25-34 (TNIV)

May God's grace and peace be your companions this day!

About a fellow sojourner

a sojourner in life, trying to follow in the steps of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Christian Living, Christianity, Church, Family, Life, Personal, Spirituality & Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why Worry?

  1. Jennifer says:

    I have, I am ashamed to say, a very hard struggle defeating the sin of worry in my life. In fact, I think it just may be my biggest area of concern right now. I have heard some say that the root of worry is really unbelief because if you TRULY believed God then you wouldn’t worry.

    A while back, I took a Beth Moore Bible study called BELIEVING GOD. In it, she gave us five things for us to remember to help us believe God. They are:

    1. I believe God is who He is says He is.
    2. I believe God can do what He says He can do.
    3. I believe I am who God says I am.
    4. I can do all things through Christ.
    5. God’s Word is alive and active in me.

    Though simplistic in nature, learning those five things have helped me immeasurably. When I get into a worry situation, I will sometimes have to remind myself of those, as well as the scriptures you included in your post.

    As a matter of fact, just before I clicked on your page I was worrying about something. Thanks for offering me an oasis in the middle of my late night struggle.

    His,
    Jen

  2. Wow, Jen! I almost didn’t post that, but God was prompting me to go ahead with it. He knew what you needed. Isn’t that just so cool? Here’s something a friend shared with me some time back. It’s by Fernando Ortega. He’s one of my favorites. Let these words settle into your heart and bring comfort to your worry-worn soul:

    Take Heart, My Friend

    Take heart, my friend, we’ll go together
    This uncertain road that lies ahead
    Our faithful God has always gone before
    And He will lead the way once again

    Take heart, my friend, we can walk together
    And if our burdens become too great
    We can hold up and help one another
    In God’s love, in God’s grace

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender in the night

    If we should falter when trouble surrounds us
    When the wind and the waves are wild and high
    We will look away to Him who rules the waters;
    Who speaks His peace into the angry tide

    He is our comfort, our sustainer
    He is our help in time of need
    When we wander, He is our Shepherd
    He who watches over us never sleeps

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender every night

    Take heart my friend, the Lord is with us
    As He has been all the days of our lives
    Our assurance every morning
    Our defender in the night.

    And remember, you ARE His!

  3. Greg England says:

    I heard Fernando at a Twila Paris concert a few years back. They were both awesome.

    I’ve reached the age I worry about very little … except to worry about the fact that I don’t worry as much.

  4. Vic says:

    I always believe that God is so powerful, He got mighty power to create heaven and earth. Men’s big problems are just small problems for Him. God is powerful and what I need to is to be faithful. So why I’l be worried of anything? I’m only worried of one thing…and that is to be depart from God.

  5. Tom says:

    Mark Lowry is fond of saying “I’ve been pallbearer at too many of my friends who worried. You’ve got your worry and you’ve got your cholesterol. One or the other will kill you. Cholestorol is a lot more fun.”

  6. Greg England says:

    Tom, you left out prostate cancer for us guys! I think I’ll drop the cholesterol meds and enjoy my remaining days even more!

  7. Dee Andrews says:

    I’m a worrier by nature. Terribly so. But God has been good to give me the most wonderful husband I could ever hope for or imagine here in my later life who always is on an even keel and who always sees the good in everything and looks on the bright side. I am firmly convinced that this was no accident in life that He has blessed me with, after living many years of my life in a terribly emotionally abusive marriage.

    I thank God every second of every minute of every day for this man who is such a blessing to me. We’ve known each other now for a very long time and have been married for 15 years and I still feel that way. More so each day.

    My dad, who had very high standards and expectations, came to think of Tom as his own son and made that abundantly clear.

    Thank God for His constant and consistent love for us, His children. And thank you, Bill, for your post and the scriptures, too, some of my favorites.

  8. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for your comment to my comment, Bill. The song is beautiful.

    I am just tired and weary…….but I know I have to keep going. If not just for me, but also for the people that I minister to through DivorceCare. I do sometimes wish for some sort of spiritual reprieve…kinda like you could just press pause on your life until you rested up a bit….and then when you were ready to face the battle again you could press play. I like that idea…but then I always did believe in fairy tales!

  9. LindseyMarie says:

    i first learned of the verses Matthew 6: 25-34 this night in UMYF our bible study and it helps me to think of not worrying as much…look it up and try memorizing it.

Leave a Reply

